Skip to content

Save A Life By Blogging

January 24, 2012

Several weeks ago I was contacted by Melanie Bowen, a part-time blog contributor on the Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance website. Her letter read –

“I am contacting you today after coming across and reading the great content on your blog— to log and catalog desires, wishes, and things you plan to accomplish is by far the most important aspect to actually undertaking goals! Most people do not put their thoughts on paper—consequently leaving them without tangible reminders and constant ambition. I’m sure you can imagine how important this idea could be for those going through health struggles regardless of what they may be. An individual going through treatment, in remission, and even the family members of those with chronic or terminal illnesses face everyday challenges of maintaining a quality of life—self-motivation and inspiration is the key!

I’ve recently been invited to be a contributor on the Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance blog and have the ability to reach a wider audience. Awareness is an important factor when it comes to health and healing, so please let me know if you would be interested in allowing me to contribute a small guest post on your blog or if you would consider putting a link to my MCA blog on your site as a resource for your readers. I am eager to share your resources from my Twitter and Facebook following in order to give your site more traffic to further build up this concept of encouragement. So, if there are other ideas you have about ways we could work together, I’d love to hear them and I hope you are interested.

 Thank you for all you do in making a difference,The article I have attached encompasses the idea and importance of inspiration and self-motivation. Every illness has its limitations, but I firmly believe that goals and positivity go hand in hand on an individual’s path to healing and quality of life. I have linked to reputable courses and studies in this field and have tailored the article to encompass those ideas.”

I was very touched to receive Melanie’s email and of course agreed to share her article. Have a read for yourself and feel free to provide me with any thoughts and feedback you might have…

Save A Life By Blogging

Being diagnosed with a disease such as mesothelioma, breastcancer or diabetes is not something that is easy to deal with. With that being known, throughout any stated prognosis, being diagnosed with a chronic or terminal is enough to knock the wind out of your sails.

Many patients are faced with two choices; you can accept your diagnosis and start fighting for your life or you can give up. The choice is obvious; fight. Everyone deserves to live a full, happy life. Most survivors of tough illnesses will tell you that their diagnosis ended up being one of the best things that ever happened to them by being one of the most difficult things they have had to deal with. Yes, that’s right. Their desire to live and their ability to fight taught them that they are stronger than they thought and that they have the ability to overcome anything in their lives.

Quality of life is consequently a significant factor to those dealing with health obstacles, lets be sure we all are on the path to healing. One of the best ways to motivate yourself to survive your illness is through blogging and setting goals. Blogging is a way to document your feelings; your emotions will change drastically from day to day, even from second to second. The ability to write down your feelings and share them through a blog is something that will inspire other patients as they fight for health. By sharing your story you not only inspire yourself to make changes or reward your achievements, but you also can tap into other individuals that may be going through the same things and vise-versa.

That’s right; your simple blog could be the catalyst that helps another patient decide to keep fighting and in which ways. Reading about your diagnosis and treatment and seeing your goals written down will help others in their fight. And goals are a must. If you don’t, you won’t have any tangible motivation–a thought can only travel so far and thoughts can easily be forgotten or pushed to the side.

Your goals can be as small as going on a cruise once you are cancer free, finish reading that book you never got to finish, dance at your daughter’s wedding with your friends and family or even start that nutritional diet that would help with you treatments. Whatever keeps you going and makes you look forward to life the most is what you should blog as your goals.

Seeing your story, reading about your failures and successes and your triumphs and tribulations could change someones life and can inspire the direction you take in your own. Seeing that other people are going through the same thing and that they are managing to survive is sometimes exactly what others need to make the choice to fight cancer themselves. So save a life; start a blog.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Shannon permalink

    Wow… That’s amazing. Well done!, I know it’s only a small comment to make after reading that, but you inspire me to run faster, stronger and challenge myself. I also know what it’s like to have physical challenges. I was born at 25 weeks and as a result I have had Cerebral Palsy on my right side – luckily only minor – all my life. As much as I’ve had days where I hate it, when I know people stare, when I feel like I’m not going to get the things I want out of life because if it, I still try. Everyone has a choice.

    Your blog certainly has provided me with ways to challenge my running, I’ve contacted Chris from Chisel Fitness to run with them, and I want to try my hand at beach running. I’ve been unable to do that yet due to this weather, but I’m hoping soon!

    So thanks for your blog, I wish you all the best with your running, keep up the good work 🙂

    Shannon

  2. Good on you Shannon! I look forward to meeting you at one of Chris’s sessions.

  3. Looking forward to finally catching up when the sky runs out of water Shannon!

  4. Tim it seems that Park Run is about much more than just running. Melanie’s words and your response will put many good thoughts into people’s minds. One of the musts for effective goal setting is putting your ideas on paper. Those who do not, have nothing like the success rate in achievement as those who commit to the written word. Just having the desire in the head needs that little more; something down on paper.

Leave a Reply

